Please be informed that the IPA offices will be closed Friday 4th August.
We will respond to you as soon as we return on Monday 7th August.

The Mann Award for Women

The Mann Award for Women is intended to give its recipient a significant career boost by providing them with an educational or developmental opportunity they would otherwise be unlikely to enjoy. A bursary of £10,000 is awarded to the successful applicant.

The winners were announced on 4th June 2008 at a celebratory event at 44 Belgrave Square:

Ms Alison Chadwick
, People Director, AMV BBDO
Ms Mythili Chandrasekar, Executive Planning Director, JWT India
Ms Lee Wright, Managing Director, Dare

Full details can be downloaded here.

If you require any further information regarding the award please contact Pamela Perl .

The Mann Award for Women was set up in memory of Patricia Mann OBE who died on Friday 15th September 2006. Patricia’s contribution to the advertising industry and to the world of business was significant and widespread. A lifetime employee of JWT, she started out in 1959 as a secretary and was swiftly promoted to copywriter before becoming Vice-President of JWT International and the first Head of External Affairs in 1977. She was the first woman Officer of the IPA, a Fellow and a valued member of Council. She held the position of Hon. Secretary from 1980-1983 under the Presidencies of Mike English (1981) and Chris Hawes (1981-83). She was also an ASA Council Member for 14 years.

The many roles she took up throughout her life included:

Senior Independent Director of Centrica plc
Director of JWT Trustees
Trustee of National Trust Enterprises
Trustee of the AA Motoring Trust
A Past President and an Honorary Member of WACL
Vice-President of the History of Advertising Trust (HAT)
Chair of the European Women of Achievement Awards
In 1977 she earned the Advertising Association’s Mackintosh Medal for public and personal service to advertising.

Trustees of the Patricia Mann Award for Women:

Andrew Brown, Chairman of CAP & BCAP
Stephen Carter CBE, Chief of Strategy and Principal Advisor to the UK Prime Minister
Harry MacAuslan, Global Communications Director, Leo Burnett Worldwide
Caroline Marland, Non-Executive Director of Bank of Ireland Group
Marina Palomba
Lyndy Payne, Trustee and Member of the General Management Committee of NABS
Last updated 14/01/2010

Contact the IPA

ABCe audit Offical Webby Awards Honoree (2011, 2013)

Website, membership and content management software by Senior
Creative design by Igentics

© 2018 IPA. All rights reserved. No part of this
site may be reproduced without our permission.