Please be informed that the IPA offices will be closed Friday 4th August.
We will respond to you as soon as we return on Monday 7th August.

IPA announces Council election results 2017

The IPA yesterday (23 March) announced the results of its annual Council elections.


Sarah Golding, CEO and Partner of CHI & Partners, was officially ratified as IPA President having been announced as President-elect in December 2016. She will deliver her inaugural speech setting out her two-year presidential agenda for the industry at the IPA Members’ Lunch on Wednesday 26th April.

In addition, 21 IPA agency practitioners were either newly-elected of re-elected to the IPA Council. Of the 21, 10 are new to council.

The newly-elected members are:

  • Brian Coane, Partner, Leith
  • Julian Douglas, Vice Chairman, VCCP
  • Tom Firth, Managing Director, M&C Saatchi
  • Alison Hoad, joining BBH as Chief Strategy Officer in May
  • Mark Howley, Chief Executive, Zenith Media
  • Pip Hulbert, Chief Operating Officer, Wunderman UK
  • Becky McOwen-Banks, Creative Director, FCB Inferno
  • Marc Nohr, Chief Executive, Fold7
  • Ben Quigley, Group Chief Executive, Everything Different
  • Charlie Rudd, Chief Executive, Ogilvy & Mather London

The following members we re-elected:

  • Zaid Al-Zaidy, Chief Executive, Above+Beyond
  • Ben Bilboul, Chief Executive, Karmarama
  • Kate Bruges, Co-Director of Talent, J. Walter Thompson
  • Claudine Collins, Managing Director UK, MediaCom
  • Sarah Golding, Chief Executive & Partner, CHI & Partners
  • Camilla Harrisson, Chief Executive & Partner, Anomaly
  • Chris Hirst, Chairman & Chief Executive, Havas UK and Chief Executive, Havas Europe
  • Mike Leeson, Managing Director, Golley Slater
  • Stephen Maher, Chief Executive, MBA
  • James Murphy, Founder & Group Chief Executive, adam&eveDDB
  • Melissa Robertson, Chief Executive, Now

Council is the governing body of the IPA. It acts as the legal entity responsible for making the same decisions that a Board would make in a traditional company. It is also the IPA’s main policy-making body and debating forum. Council comprises 42 elected members, each of whom is elected for a three-year term. There are also five ex officio members, namely: the immediate IPA Past President (if still in the employment of a member agency), plus the IPA Chairs of the 44 Club, England & Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland.

Last updated 24/03/2017

Contact the IPA

ABCe audit Offical Webby Awards Honoree (2011, 2013)

Website, membership and content management software by Senior
Creative design by Igentics

Institute of Practitioners in Advertising (IPA)
© 2018 IPA. All rights reserved. No part of this
site may be reproduced without our permission.