Please be informed that the IPA offices will be closed Friday 4th August.
We will respond to you as soon as we return on Monday 7th August.

IPA awards nine Fellowships

The IPA has granted nine Fellowships to industry practitioners in recognition of their exceptional and prolonged contribution to the IPA. The individuals were awarded at the IPA Members’ Lunch today (29 April 2015).


The nine fellows are:

  • David Hackworthy, Fallon
  • Lorna Hawtin, TBWA\Manchester
  • Cathy Lowe, PHD Media
  • Ian Priest, Chime Communications
  • Ben Quigley, Different (MIPA)
  • Pete Robins, agenda21
  • Stephen Roycroft, RLA Group Belfast (MIPA)
  • Liz Wilson, Karmarama
  • Claire Wood, Leith Agency

David Hackworthy (Chief Strategy Officer, Fallon London)

David has been a key player in the development of the IPA Excellence Diploma since its inception, having joined Nick Kendall 10 years ago as a founding module editor and marker. He has contributed to the Diploma programme throughout its history and has been instrumental in reshaping it for today’s tech-driven market. He has spent hundreds of hours creating a wide-ranging reading list to help attendees define ‘What is a brand?’, as well as coordinating in-depth book clubs and deep dive workshops to create debate around the future of brands. David has also been a dedicated participant in the marking procedure for the final essays and in determining the President’s Prize.

Lorna Hawtin (Disruption Director, TBWA\Manchester)

Lorna has just completed a four-year term for the IPA Effectiveness Awards, first as Deputy Convenor in 2012 and then as Convenor of Judges in 2014. She was the editor of Advertising Works 22, published in March 2015, and oversaw the implementation of a new format for the title that put case history examples against key industry themes such as ‘How to Stage a Comeback’. Lorna became a member of the IPA Value of Creativity Group in 2008 and has since been an active contributor to the effectiveness programme, both as a driver of the new vision and in developing content. She was also instrumental in the development of the IPA’s Eff Test qualification on effectiveness and measurement.

Cathy Lowe (Head of Radio, PHD Media)

Cathy is one of the most senior radio specialists in the agency business. She is very supportive of the medium as a whole and leads agency participation in all the activities and events in the radio industry. Cathy has chaired the IPA Radio Working Party since 2010 and also represents the IPA on the JICRIT Board. She is the lead agency representative for all aspects of radio activity from the Radio Centre/ Radio Advertising Bureau, representing agencies on their Advisory Panels for RAJAR, JET, etc. Cathy has always been very generous with her time and has helped the IPA in many radio-related activities, from making submissions to government to developing the IPA TouchPoints database.

Ian Priest (Founder, VCCP and Chief Operating Officer, CSM)

Ian completed his two-year term as IPA President in March 2015. He achieved a huge amount during his Presidency via the ADAPT programme, which covered the five themes of Alliances, Diversification, Agility, Performance and Talent. Central to his agenda was closer engagement with the client community, which has resulted in a legacy of greater collaboration between clients and agencies on training, events and other initiatives of mutual interest. The concluding event of the ADAPT programme took place in March with an interview between the BBC’s Evan Davis and Sir Martin Sorrell. Prior to taking on the role of President, Ian was involved with the IPA Value of Creativity Group and was its Chairman from 2006 until the end of 2008. He joined the IPA Council in 2006.

Ben Quigley (Group Chief Executive, Different)

Ben became the IPA’s first City Head for Newcastle in January 2013, before being elected as IPA Chairman for England and Wales. His commitment and enthusiasm for his IPA responsibilities have been unwavering. He has played a pivotal role in ensuring the needs and aspirations of the many IPA members outside London in England and Wales are looked after, travelling far and wide to listen to their views at IPA events held in Birmingham, Bournemouth, Bristol, Manchester and Newcastle and to chair the quarterly meetings of the City Heads. Ben is also a member of both the IPA Council and Membership Committee.

Pete Robins (Managing Partner, agenda21)

Pete has been a key player in the IPA’s digital media community since his agency joined membership in 2005. He has chaired the IPA Digital Media Group since 2011 and has played a pivotal role in representing agency interests on numerous cross industry initiatives, most notably the Digital Trading Standards Group. Building on the significance of the IPA Online Media Owner Survey, he also helped found the IPA Media Owner Awards and has acted as Chairman of Judges for the last three years. Pete was elected to the IPA Council in 2015.

Stephen Roycroft (Managing Director, RLA Group Belfast)

Stephen has been IPA Chairman for Northern Ireland since 2010 and has been instrumental in leading the Northern Ireland Group in negotiations with the Central Procurement Directorate regarding refined tender/pitch protocols. This year, the Group has been invited by the Government Procurement Directorate and Government Advertising Unit to help develop a new tendering protocol for the next Campaign Advertising Framework. The Group is also currently engaging with the Chamber of Commerce to promote the value of advertising to private and public sectors. In addition, Stephen represents the Group at the Business Industry Forum for Northern Ireland, helps the IPA plan its annual programme of training and events in Belfast and represents local members at IPA Council meetings.

Liz Wilson (Chief Operating Officer, Karmarama)

Liz was Chairman of the IPA Client Relationship Group from 2012 to 2014, during which time she helped run a number of events to champion the leadership of effective client/agency relationships. By bringing together a broader community, including clients, intermediaries and creatives, she helped develop and grow the leadership skills of account handlers. Liz was part of the team which redesigned the IPA Client Services course in 2012 and then co-chaired it in its new format for two very successful years. Since then, she has delivered a session on leadership skills for the IPA every year, which has become one of the cornerstones of the course. Liz has been a member of the IPA Council since 2013.

Claire Wood (Associate Planner, Leith)

Claire has been the IPA’s Chairman for Scotland since 2013, having joined the Scotland Group in 2011. Her agenda as Chairman has focussed on increasing levels of digital knowledge, mentoring, engaging with younger members, and working with local schools, colleges and universities to promote advertising as a career. As well as increasing mentoring numbers, she set up a Client Digital Council and a Digital Forum, which, along with the re-established Social Forum, delivered a series of successful panel sessions, training opportunities and events for members. Claire has also represented the IPA and the industry at the Scottish Enterprise and Interactive Scotland initiatives, responded to the Scottish Government Media Framework and been a member of the IPA Council.

View the full list of IPA Fellows here.


Last updated 29/04/2015

Contact the IPA

ABCe audit Offical Webby Awards Honoree (2011, 2013)

Website, membership and content management software by Senior
Creative design by Igentics

Institute of Practitioners in Advertising (IPA)
© 2018 IPA. All rights reserved. No part of this
site may be reproduced without our permission.